My Wife is a Good Providee

My wife told me the other day that she appreciated me for being a good provider for our family. But I really do not have a particularly lucrative career. A mechanical engineer in a small Midwest town does not exactly rake it in. If I am able to provide well for my family it mostly has to do with my wife being a good providee.

It is often thought, as a Mormon ideal, that the husband should be the provider, and the wife the nurturing parent. For my wife this is pretty easy because being a stay at home mom is what she wants to do anyway. Keeping up with modern American expectations on one modest income can be a challenge. Every little thing seems to cost so much.

For the first several years of our marriage we lived in a 16 X 80 mobile home in a trailer court. That’s right, I am trailer trash. At least I used to be. But even in those circumstances my wife would often talk about how blessed she was and how good she had it. She expressed gratitude for the clothes she had even though most of them came from Walmart. She expressed gratitude for the food we had even though it was often stuff like macaroni and cheese. She was grateful for our car even though it was a 10 year old Chevette.

Eventually I got a few raises and we sold the trailer. Little by little we are able to live a little better. My wife still has quite simple taste and is modest in her spending. We live a very simple life and are able to make ends meet fairly well. I went to college mainly to be able to provide for a family some day – not to meet ambitious career goals. I am pleased to do a job I only occasionally like in order to provide for my family. But I am especially grateful for a supportive wife that is willing to do what it takes to be a good providee.

Thanks Becky. I wish I could do more for you.

5 Responses to “My Wife is a Good Providee”


  1. 1 John Scherer February 15, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    As one who knows well the joys of raising a family on a Mid-West engineering salary, I agree with everything you say. My wife and I have made considerable sacrifices to start and raise our family, including relocating to Nowhereville Ohio, and I cannot picture us living a happier life. I’m glad to hear that you’ve been bit by the same contentment bug as I have :).

  2. 2 Eric Nielson February 15, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Thanks John. A good wife is one of the great secrets to happiness.

  3. 3 Connor February 16, 2007 at 6:38 am

    A good wife is one of the great secrets to happiness.

    Now to find me one of those… :)

  4. 5 Daniel February 19, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    A good wife is one of the great secrets to happiness.

    Hear! Hear!


Leave a Reply

Bloggernacle



I'm a Mormon.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 258 other followers

The Author

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 118,241 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

