Easter in Kenya

My parents are having quite a time in Kenya. I got an email from them which contained the following description of what they did for Easter.

We had the Elders over for dinner at about 3:30 pm. Mom made her famous cheese-filled meatloaf and we had real barbecue sauce and Heinz Ketchup. We also had cooked carrots, baked potatoes, cole slaw, lemonade, vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce, and snickerdoodles. The Elders (four of them and a branch missionary) were dazzled.

We just finished our first temple preparation course and will soon start another one.

Senior couple missionaries do so many wonderful things. I can only imagine what a treat this was for a group of missionaries serving in Kenya. My moms cheese filled meatloaf is pretty good. I almost forgot about it. This made me remember about a special senior couple in my mission named the Hansens. They were from the Tremonton area and served in Cordele Georgia. They were the church in Cordele – a small branch with very few resources. They also did a good job of taking care of the missionaries that passed through. Cordele was my first area and I was so grateful for them.

Senior couples can be such pillars of strength in the mission field, and can serve in so many ways. I am very proud of my parents for enthusiastically accepting a calling as proselyting missionaries in Kenya Africa. I have truly been born of goodly parents. And I hope to serve a mission with my wife some day – in about 30 years. Who knows what adventures we may have?

2 Responses to “Easter in Kenya”


  1. 1 Naiah April 12, 2007 at 12:54 am

    How sweet! I can’t help but wonder, given their special refernce, how they managed to get real barbeque sauce and ketchup…Did some ship a care package? It’s so wonderful that they did that for the missionaries serving there.

    Rob and I were just talking for the first time, yesterday, about serving a mission someday. Plenty to do in the meantime, but that will be an exciting chapter when it comes.

    I’d love another update from your parents just including the hows and whats of their day, if you feel like you can ask that of them.

  2. 2 Eric Nielson April 12, 2007 at 8:29 am

    I’ll see what I can do.

    They do read this thing once in a while, maybe they will leave a comment.


Leave a Reply

Bloggernacle



I'm a Mormon.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 261 other followers

The Author

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 123,300 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

