The Liahona: A Hymn I Wrote

That’s right, I wrote a hymn about two years ago called The Liahona. Feel free to put it on your piano and play it if you like. I would be glad to get any feedback anyone has about it. You can hear the music here. I sent it in to the Ensign (how naive can I be?) and of course they don’t have time or space for that sort of thing.

I wanted to write a hymn about the Liahona because as far as I know there wasn’t one. We have a hymn called The Iron Rod, but no Liahona. Figures.

Writing this hymn was a good experience for me. I spent a couple of Sunday afternoons writing down every term, definition and phrase that I could find in the Book of Mormon regarding the Liahona. I then planned out the lyrics in what seemed like a logical sequence. I spent a few days picking out the music on our piano, writing down notes on paper. I then came across a shareware composing software and put it on the computer. After I was finished I submitted it to our bishop and requested doing the song as part of a sacrament meeting. On the weekend of my #2 son’s baptism, when my parents came, a quartet performed the song in our sacrament meeting. It was a special moment for me.

Anyone else ever tried their hand at writing a hymn?

5 Responses to “The Liahona: A Hymn I Wrote”


  1. 1 Anonymous January 31, 2006 at 11:13 am

    Doesn’t the Ensign have a music contest each year? You could submit it to that.

  2. 2 SM July 9, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I really liked the song. You have a real talent in writing music and lyrics. You should try re-submitting it to the church.

  3. 4 LesnKC September 22, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    I was reading about 1 Nephi 16, on BoM Groupies, when I read comments below the article, and saw the link for your hymn, “The Liahona”. I think it is very nice and would fit perfectly in our hymn book. Nice job.
    I agree with SM, and think you should resubmit! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Bloggernacle



I'm a Mormon.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 346 other followers

The Author

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 166,444 hits

