Deacon/Teacher transition, and Happy Birthday

My oldest son turns 14 tomorrow. He will be ordained a teacher in the Aaronic Priesthood. A big step for a young boy. His first home teaching assignment will be coming soon.

He struggles with school, and expends a lot of effort to keep up and get average grades. For some reason he really has trouble with tests. He doesn’t always think very clearly, and had trouble remembering things. He gets by with great attitude and effort. He doesn’t have much athletic ability or interest. Much the same with music. Many of the things we regularly associate with talent he does not have a strong ability in.

He is a very good boy. So good. His talent lies in many of the Christ like character traits. He is so nice, kind, and obedient. While I am concerned about his academic and career prospects, his eternal goals are of little worry for me. I am much more concerned for my own eternal well being than I am for his.

As I look back on his two years as a Deacon I am quite pleased. He has earned his First Class rank in scouting. This in spite of a fear of water that several sessions of swimming lessons have not taken away. He completed the swimming requirements, perhaps with more choking, coughing and sputtering than normal, but complete them he did. He also will complete the Deacons level requirements for the Duty to God Award. As I write this he is completing the Book of Mosiah to pass the reading requirement. He served the last several months as the president of the Deacons quorum. A not so obvious choice as president, but a good one.

I have many reasons to be proud of my boy. Happy birthday buddy.

9 Responses to “Deacon/Teacher transition, and Happy Birthday”


  1. 1 J. Stapley February 8, 2007 at 4:15 am

    It sounds like you have a fine boy. Happy Birthday to him.

  2. 3 Tony February 8, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    Indeed, he sounds like a fine boy and you have much to be proud of. I wouldn’t be worried about his academic or career prospects, he’ll do fine. Attitude and efort will take a person far.

  3. 4 Tony February 8, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    I’m told “efFort” will take a person far, too! (Re:, my typo above!) LOL

  4. 5 Eric Nielson February 8, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Thanks Tony. I keep praying for him. I get a little frustrated helping him with math and such. I need more patience, and he needs to be able to see the patterns of mathematics. Hpefully we can learn together.

  5. 6 C Jones February 9, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    The world is in need of more nice, kind, good men who know how to work hard and have a great attitude. That sounds about perfect to me!

  6. 7 Eric Nielson February 9, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Thanks C. Hopefully I can say the same thing when he is 18.

  7. 8 C Jones February 9, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    I have a son who will turn 18 in a few months. He was also nice, kind and good at 14, and is now such a wonderful person that I can’t even tell you. So don’t worry too much šŸ™‚ It has seemed to me that the important thing has been to always maintain the relationship- after all, having an engineer for a father when you need help with math is valuable. But having a father who accepts and supports a child, and who lets him know that he is of the highest priority to his dad is priceless.


Leave a Reply

Bloggernacle



I'm a Mormon.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 346 other followers

The Author

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 166,444 hits

