My Hope

I am in the middle of a series on Faith, Hope and Charity. I posted previously on faith, where I expressed my belief in the existence of God, in the divinity of Christ, and in the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon. My faith in these areas leads to hope. This is my hope:

My faith in the existence of God leads to hope that life has a purpose. My hope is that many things happen for a reason. Even trials and tragedy may have purpose and meaning. Faith in God as a higher power gives me hope of occasional divine intervention for the benefit of myself and others. I have a gospel hope that I am not just a genetic blend with an uncertain end, but a child of God who is part of a plan.

My faith in Christ as the savior leads me to hope of salvation and eternal life. I now have hope that death is not the end of my existence. I now have hope that sin can be forgiven. I have hope in the justice and mercy that comes through Christ. This hope brings me peace, but much more as well. It is an enthusiasm and an optimism for the gospel that Jesus taught. I am now motivated through hope to repent of my sins, receive the ordinances of the gospel, and live the teachings of Jesus Christ. For there really is forgiveness available, there really will be a resurrection, we really will sit in the mercy seat before the pleasing bar of God. He has overcome death! He has overcome sin! He will be just and merciful! Do we not experience great hope in this? This hope can overcome fear, doubt, anger or hate. This is my hope in Christ.

My faith in the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon gives me hope. I now have hope that the teachings of my church will lead to peace in this life and eternal life in the world to come. It gives me hope that God really does live, and is active in the affairs of His kingdom on the earth. It gives me hope that the priesthood has been restored, and that I can receive the ordinances of the gospel in the proper way from the proper people. It opens up the door to a hope in continuing revelation to both modern day prophets and to individuals.

I believe that gospel centered hope comes from real faith, and is an optimistic, enthusiastic, motivating force to live the teachings of Jesus Christ so that you may partake of the blessings that have been promised to the faithful, even joy and peace in this life and eternal life with God in the world to come.

This is my hope.

0 Responses to “My Hope”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Bloggernacle



I'm a Mormon.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 353 other followers

The Author

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 169,552 hits

