Pat Robertson Doesn’t Like the SNL Version of Jesus in Tebow Skit

On Yahoo I saw a link to Robertson’s disgust about he calls the anti-Christian bigotry on display during the Tebow sketch.

This was interesting to me because I was thinking about how much I liked the depiction of Jesus in this sketch.  Sure, there were parts that were not reverent, but I thought is was not so bad.  I would like to list what I liked and did not like about how Christ was depicted in the sketch:

Liked

1 – A flesh and bone Jesus of the same image as man.  We worship a resurrected being after all.  This was not some mysterious mist or substance (or non-substance).  This was an embodied flesh and bone being.

2 – Jesus was interested in the personal lives of mankind.  He was an active participant in peoples lives.  He was answering prayers, and helping out.

3 – He was progressing in time with the rest of us.  The future was not absolutely known.

4 – He loved people – even Tebow.

5 – He recognized Mormonism as being true.

6 – He referenced ‘dad’, or Heavenly Father as a separate being.

Did Not Like:

1 – Not a glorified being.  He should have been gleaming or something.

2 – A bit irreverent and informal for my taste.  But hey, it’s a comedy sketch.

3 – He prays to Matt Prader (the kicker)?  I could have done without that line.

4 – He didn’t love Belichick as evidenced by the devil sign..  Even Belichick is loved by Jesus.

5 – Socks with sandals.

So, what did you think about how Jesus was depicted?

16 Responses to “Pat Robertson Doesn’t Like the SNL Version of Jesus in Tebow Skit”


  1. 1 Brother Smyth December 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I do like how he called out Tebow for being in everyone’s face about religion. What happened to praying in your closet instead of on the street corner?

  2. 3 Last Lemming December 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    The whole praying to Matt Prader thing was a set up for the “I just don’t get in everyone’s face about it” line. It was awkward, but I’m not sure how he gets to that line–the bottom-line message of the skit–otherwise. Also, acknowledging Belichick’s evilness is not the same as not loving him;it’s just calling it as he sees it.

    To the list of likes,

    (1) he expects us to do our part and not make him to all the heavy lifting, and
    (2) he drags country music and beauty pageants into the scene.

    To the list of dislikes,

    (1) he gives Tom Brady way too much credit, and
    (2) he doesn’t know who’s next on Denver’s schedule (seriously?).

    In a sense, I agree with Robertson. I disagree with any implication that the skit was anti-Jesus, but it was anti-Christian (assuming Robertson’s definition of Christian which excludes Mormons).

  3. 4 larryco_ December 20, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Criticing the skit? Well, I’d like to bear my testimony that I think the skit was true!

    Actually, I agree with most of the points made above, including the addendum points made by Last Lemming. My wife and I talked about the “informal” approach and actually liked it. I mean, wasn’t that what endeared him to the common people 2,000 years ago. Remember, the thee’s and thou’s formality were only added 480 years ago by William Tyndale.

    If the skit had been addressed just to LDS, I would like to have heard Jesus say “Seriously, folks, most of the rules you have in all of your handbooks and stuff…that didn’t come from me. I just want you to be good boys and girls and try to be kind and loving every day. I’ve never been much of a ‘rules’ guy.”

    Ya, I know, we all have a desire to create deity in our own image, and the more laid-back Jesus is mine. But, hey, we all know there was an anti-establishment element to his approach, so the socks and sandals fit right in!

  4. 5 Craig December 21, 2011 at 4:14 am

    I liked the skit. Frankly, I was expecting much worse. Even without the comment about mormonism at the end, I liked it. Pat Robertson is not worth the attention. I wish people would just ignore him.

  5. 6 Neil Erickson December 21, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I think Brigham Young would have appreciated the line about reading the regular play book, not just the Bible.

  6. 7 Eric Nielson December 21, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Yes. You read NCT recently?

  7. 8 Neil Erickson December 21, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    I have no idea what you’re talking about.

  8. 9 Eric Nielson December 21, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    I also like the request, not commandment line.

  9. 10 larryco_ December 21, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    So here’s a question: During the 6-game winning streak, do you think church attendence increased in the Denver area because of their thankfulness for St. Timothy, or decreased due to fear of missing a single moment of the Mile High Miracle? (3rd option: Tivo Tebow).

  10. 11 Blake December 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    I think it was intended to be an “in your face message” to “in your face” evangelicals — to PO them so that they get just how anyone could be put off by their over the top antics. Mentioning Mormonism was the surest way to put them over the top. But hey, with the endorsement of both South Park and SNL, it seems that it’s hip to use Mormons to PO evangelicals.

  11. 12 Eric Nielson December 23, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Actually,I’m all for that.

  12. 13 don leach December 31, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    I loved the skit. It was on point about throwing your religion in everybody’s face at all times. I also believe that Jesus won’t be caught up in just following the rules as opposed to the spirit of what you do. It was funny as well when he found out that Denver was playing New England next. It spoke of how Denver’s luck was about to run out (and it did). But what do I know? I’m a Cleveland Browns fan.

  13. 14 Eric Nielson January 2, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    It does seem like Denver has lost its divine intervention doesn’t it?

  14. 15 Mogget January 5, 2012 at 10:21 am

    hiya, Eric,

    Just breaking in to say “hi” and thanks for your response over on FPR. Although you don’t “see” me much, S&S has always been a favorite of mine and I usually check it once a week or so. In the future, I will make a point of commenting every so often, though.

    Note the email in the posting info and feel free to write anytime,

    Mogs


Leave a comment




Bloggernacle



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 363 other subscribers

The Author

Archives

RSS LDS News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 202,327 hits